Obligatory Thanksgiving Post, Now With Added Rob Lowe

I love Thanksgiving.

It’s literally my favorite holiday. I love everything about it.

I love stuffing myself silly. I love visiting my relatives. I love how my 8-year-old cousin will crawl under the table and incessantly interrupt grown-up conversations in an attempt to be seen and heard. I love the Christmas specials on TV Thursday evening (despite the fact that I’m Jewish). I love people-watching on Black Friday, but I also love how empty the rest of the world is when you don’t go to the mall. I love eating the leftovers. I love watching people watch football (way better than actually watching football). I love getting to experience real winter/fall weather for a few days.

This year I’m thankful for a lot of things. I’m thankful for my new job. I’m thankful for my MFA. I’m thankful that I get to write, and that I’ve actually finished a draft and may even finish this story by the end of the year. I’m thankful for my boyfriend, my family, and my friends. I’m thankful for the time I have with the people I love, however fleeting it may feel sometimes. I’m thankful for apps and a phone that let me obsessively check flights and weather, even if in the end it won’t let me control whether or not I get to Philadelphia on time. I’m thankful that this year, my favorite holiday comes with a Hanukkah bonus (Thanksgivukkah!). I’m thankful that this was the year I finally discovered Parks and Rec.

What do you love about Thanksgiving? Is it your favorite holiday too? What are you thankful for?

Aside

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Melanie Fishbane
    Dec 02, 2013 @ 13:51:08

    I am thankful for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

